MINUTES MFSRC ANNUAL MEETING September 14, 2009

- 1. The meeting was called to order by President Jenna Penfield at 4:07 p.m. at the Kelly Inn in St. Cloud.
- Roll call of Executive Board—officers present—Jenna Penfield, Sandy Slocum, Melissa Rossow, Juan Martinez, Anne Bradley, John Stark, Jolene Annen, Jennifer Stanfield, Linda Flykt, Karen Strandemo, Patrick Hest, Karey Hindi, Teri Nielsen, Ruth Sundermeyer, Sandy Thorne, Grant Forsyth, Tina Buscher, Kathleen Tracy, Nancy Menssen, Lori Lofrano, Pat Krauth, Mark Ponsolle, Lori Hanson.

Excused absences—Jenny Nystrom, Lisa Kontz, Rich Thielman, Robert Tipp, Robyn Krause, Trygve Larsen, Diane Hall, Brian Buhmann.

- Secretary's Report: Anne Bradley distributed the minutes from last year's annual meeting. Motion by Mark Ponsolle, 2nd by Lynda Flykt to approve the minutes as distributed. Motion carried.
- 4. Treasurer's Report: Treasurer, John Stark distributed the report and provided summary, as well as a short summary of past balances back to 2001. Treasurer's report placed on file.
- 5. Old Business:
 - a. 2009 NCSEA Conference Report-the 2009 NCSEA conference was not held-no report.
 - b. Request was made for any other old business. None received.
- 6. New Business:

a. Nominations and Elections: Grant Forsyth requested nominations from the floor for the following Board positions. Nominations from the floor were requested three times for the following positions: 2nd Vice Chair—no nominations from the floor, Secretary—no nominations from the floor, Treasurer—no nominations from the floor, Members at Large—no nominations from the floor, 1st District—no nominations from the floor, 2nd District—no nominations from the floor, 3rd District—no nominations from the floor, 4th District—no nominations from the floor, 5th District—no nominations from the floor, 6th District—no nominations from the floor, 7th District—no nominations from the floor, 8th District—no nominations from the floor. Ballots were distributed in the registration packets and elections were left open until 10:15 on Tuesday, 9/15/2008. Results will be announced at the awards luncheon.

- b. Discussion on 2009-10 conference site—President, Jenna Penfield reported that at this time due to expected budget issues for next year the 2009-10 conference maybe similar to what was done this year. Discussion followed regarding the fact the MFSRC Board had considered not having a conference this year due to budget concerns. Information was provided about the trial run of the webinar that was used at this conference to see if that could or would be an option for future conferences. Using the webinar could save counties money and allow more people to attend sessions. However the webinar removes the networking piece of conference which is very beneficial to conference participants. Further discussion held regarding conference site, central location, resort versus hotel, costs. President, Jenna Penfield stated that the MFSRC Board will be initiating work for next year's conference tomorrow at their first 2009-10 Board meeting and will be looking into what best benefits the organization and its members.
- c. Request was made for any other new business. None received.

Drawings were held to give away prizes donated by vendors that participated in the MFSRC conference.

7. Motion for adjournment:

Motion was made by Lynda Flykt, Second by Ruth Sundermeyer to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 4:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne Bradley Secretary – MFSRC an at the pure of s hunchear

**Secretarial Edit: Results of the election were given at the awards luncheon and they were as follows: Jolene Annen, 2nd Vice Chair; Lori Hanson, Secretary; John Stark, Treasurer; Jenny Nystrom, 1st District; Nancy Menssen, 2nd District; Kala Kolkind, 3rd District; Patrick Hest, 4th District; Tracy Howe, 5th District; Teri Nielsen, 6th District; Ruth Sundermeyer, 7th District; Grant Forsyth, 8th District; and Pat Krauth, and Juan Martinez, Members at Large.

